is part of a private German website and not commercial.
Revenues are delivered to the charity Sterntaler eV without any shortage.


Home  some running stories in english 

Sitemap  Impressum  Contact


Sunday April 27nd 2025, 10.00 am

Tower Bridge (copyright Uli Sauer) The Mall (copyright Isaak Papadopoulos) Running Queen (copyright

Main Page   

Hall of Fame
Pros and Cons

How to Enter 
Travel Agencies     
Get started 
On the Route  
Having Finished 
Official Race Day Instructions
Supporters' Guide    
Packing List

London Tourist Links

Results 2024  

The ballot 2025 is over and results published  
840,000 entered thereof 49% women!

53,881 finisher make the London Marathon 2024 the currently biggest marathon of the world. Additionally there are 2,784 virtual runners and almost 13,000 kids who ran the mini marathon on Saturday.

Kenian double victory: Alexander Munyao and Peres Jepchirchir
(photo: TCS London Marathon)


The strongest ever women's elite field dominates this year's London Marathon. World record holder Tigst Assefa (ETH) lead by a pace close to world record and soon only 3 other women were able to follow. Finally Olympic champion Peres Jepchirchir proved to be the best sprinter on the Mall. She set the new women only word record with 2:16:16 while Assefa finished 7 seconds behind her and let the third rank for Joyciline Jepkosgei by just one second. Places 2 to 4 also beat the 7 years old women only record of Mary Keitany.

Facing the men's result surprisingly just 2 of the invited Kenian and Ethiopian runners made it to the front. London first timer  Alexander Munyao (KEN) finally ran to a safe victory after 2:04:01 distancing Kenenisa Bekele (ETH) by 14 seconds. Bekele set a new world record in his age group 40! For the first time after 28 years a british man climbed the podium. Emile Cairess (GBR) celebrates his third place after 2:06:46

91-year-old David Picksley arrives as the oldest participant after 7:57:15 within the time limit of 8 hours. Even more impressing is the winner of age group 80+: Stuart Mann clocks unbelievable 3:58:19. Jeannie Rice (USA) improves her own F75 world record by 5 minutes to an unbelievable 3:33:27.

Wheelchair athlet Marcel Hug (CH) got his 4th victory in a row. Nobody else has achieved this before, runner or wheelie. Britain's hero David Weir finished his 25th London Marathon in a row. With his 3rd place he made it to the podium for 21st time. The ladies saw a swiss double victory by Catherine Debrunner und Manuela Schär.

Top Ten Women
1 JEPCHIRCHIR, Peres (KEN) 02:16:16
2 ASSEFA, Tigst (ETH) 02:16:23
3 JEPKOSGEI, Joyciline (KEN) 2:16:24
4 ALEMU, Megertu (ETH) 02:16:34
5 KOSGEI, Brigid (KEN) 02:19:02
6 CHEPKIRUI, Sheila (KEN) 02:19:31
7 KETEMA, Tigist (ETH) 02:23:21
8 YEHUALAW, Yalemzerf (ETH) 02:23:26
9 CHEPNGETICH, Ruth (KEN) 02:24:36
10 HAILESLASE, Tsige (ETH) 02:25:03

Top Ten Men
1 MUNYAO, Alexander Mutiso (KEN) 02:04:01
2 BEKELE, Kenenisa (ETH) 02:04:15
3 CAIRESS, Emile (GBR) 02:06:46
4 MAHAMED, Mahamed (GBR) 02:07:05
5 CHAHDI, Hassan (FRA) 02:07:30
6 TESFAY, Henok (ERI) 02:09:22
7 PFEIFFER, Hendrik (GER) 02:10:00
8 ATANAW, Kinde (ETH) 02:10:03
9 MOTSCHMANN, Johannes (GER) 02:10:39
10 SHRADER, Brian (USA) 02:10:50


Future dates

External Links
TCS London Marathon
official website

London Mini Marathon

World Marathon Majors
Serpentine Running Club
The Ever Present
Marathon Expo
Marathon Pace Runners
Runners' World UK Forum
London Underground
Pace Calculator
Race Calculator
Age Calculator

Route Map


This is a private non-commercial website. Content is carefully selected but I can't guarantee that it is complete and free of mistakes.
Copyright 2000-2024 Uli Sauer, Witten. Impressum